OkCupid

remove okcupid.com

How to remove your OkCupid account

Use the information below to remove your account (or deactivate it, if you’re not certain yet).

About data retention, a message from an anonymous visitor of our site may tell something more: I believe they keep the pictures on purpose, since – they keep your password (if you try to log in to a removed account, the error message will be different if you indicate the proper password or if you indicate an erroneous one). Most likely, they just keep all account info somewhere to perform some (..) datamining on it… It’s no wonder they call themselves “the Google of online dating”.

 

Direct removal link: http://www.okcupid.com/settings?show_delete_page=1

You can either delete or disable (so you can reactivate it in the future) your account on OkCupid. Deleting and disabling follows the same process:

Oops! I deleted it! How can I get my account back?

If you delete your account, the deletion can not be undone. However, disabling the account is essentially the same as deleting your account (that is, your account will appear to be deleted), with the exception that it will be reactivated and all data recovered if you try to log back in.

 

 

Helpful Trick: Removing online data

Publicly visible text/images often aren’t properly removed even when you succeed in removing an account. Try editing or removing them manually before removing the account itself. If you’re unsure what happens to your tracks: this can be found mostly in the Terms of Service/Privacy Policy; otherwise you can always contact OkCupid and ask personally. By the way, removal requests don’t necessarily mean your data will actually be removed (e.g. due to legal obligations).

Helpful Trick: Remove third-party logins

If you signed up for OkCupid using a third-party login such as Facebook or Twitter, you probably want to revoke all access from OkCupid. Click here to find out how.

Add a comment

*
*
*